A. Elise
1 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

This is interesting, and you make some valid points. Critique can be really helpful and can help us grow as creatives. Personally, though, I don't value feedback as much when it's coming from armchair critics who aren't out there doing creative work themselves.

I'm curious what platform Rachel is standing on. Is she a poet herself? A writer? Even if she is, I feel like her negativity and judgment could cause creatives to feel more self-doubting and blocked than many of us already are -- that's not what we need. There's definitely a place for constructive feedback that's designed to help us be better, but it doesn't seem like that's what she's doing.

Rachel's entitled to her opinions, obviously. I just don't care for critics who tear down writers and other creative people but aren't actually putting any work of their own out into the world. Just my two cents.

--

--