A. Elise
1 min readApr 1, 2021

--

I don’t typically respond to vitriolic, judgmental comments like this one, but a few things struck me here. I’m not asking anyone to feel sorry for me; only presenting a point of view based on my own experience. It is subjective, and I think I said so (although my piece is also informed by research). I ended up having no choice but to take iron supplements, and they can be effective, but when I have low iron, I’m not going to choose a diet that has less of what I need. I don’t feel guilty nor will I apologize for doing what’s right for my body.

Good for you that you are able to get what you need from a plant-based diet plus supplements. That was not possible for me. I'm not sure what you mean about "controlling female reproduction" or how you construe my article as advocating mass cruelty. Nobody here is advocating rape or enslavement. Maybe you missed my point. I am in favor of responsible, mindful consumption of animal products as much as possible. But meat-free simply is not feasible for everyone.

At any rate, my article clearly hit a nerve for you. Please do feel free to disagree with me all you want. But I’m quite comfortable with my decision.

--

--